1839 – Permanent TSB Bank, Limerick

Architect: W.H. Owen / Sir Thomas Newenham Deane


Originally built as the Cork and Limerick Savings Bank; now after a series of bank amalgamations, the Permanent TSB Bank. This is one of the finest small buildings in Ireland in a neo-classical style. The façade with four Doric columns with fluted shafts presents an austere sense of solidity – essential in a bank. It was commissioned in 1839 from W.H. Owen although it was built by Sir Thomas Newenham Deane.

Latest News

December 1, 2016: Annual Heritage Angel Awards for Northern Ireland
December 1, 2016: New UAHS book on Young & MacKenzie
November 17, 2016: Winners of the 2016 Wood Awards Ireland are announced

Email Newsletter

Signup to receive email updates of new additions to Archiseek.com