1865 – Porte St. Jean, Quebec City

gateway_lge

The Citadel and walls, built to protect the city, are the largest standing fortifications in North America, earning Quebec a place on UNESCO’s World Heritage List. There are also a product of the late 19th century mania for the picturesque having been largely rebuilt in a more romantic style. Porte St. Jean originally dates back to at least 1694, was demolished in 1791 because of its poor condition and rebuilt. This gate lasted until 1865 when it was demolished and rebuilt again. The present version of the gate was built in 1939.

Latest News

September 26, 2016: ‘Sustaining the Industrial Heritage” – Annual Maura Shaffrey Memorial Lecture
September 22, 2016: Open House Cork looking for volunteers
September 21, 2016: ‘Building Ireland’ return to RTE, September 30


Email Newsletter

Signup to receive email updates of new additions to Archiseek.com