1870 – St George’s Anglican Church, Montreal, Quebec

Architect: W.T. Thomas

st_georges_anglican_lge

st_georges_anglican2_lge

St. George’s opened in 1843 to accommodate the overflown (“chapel of ease”) from Christ Church Cathedral and was first located on what is now Notre Dame Street, just outside the city walls. The present building was opened for worship on October 9, 1870 after an architectural competition. Its main features include the magnificent double hammer-beam roof, the unique column-free interior which combines elements of both English and French Gothic plans, and the superb English wood-carving in the chancel.

Latest News

September 26, 2016: ‘Sustaining the Industrial Heritage” – Annual Maura Shaffrey Memorial Lecture
September 22, 2016: Open House Cork looking for volunteers
September 21, 2016: ‘Building Ireland’ return to RTE, September 30


Email Newsletter

Signup to receive email updates of new additions to Archiseek.com