1885 – Former Greyfriar’s Church, Waterford

Architect: Sir Thomas Drew


An appealing small-scale Gothic Revival Methodist Church, designed by Sir Thomas Drew. Although extensively re-modelled to the interior to accommodate its present use as an art gallery, the exterior retains its original form and character, and is a picturesque feature in a streetscape of disparate styles, including medieval, Georgian, and Victorian period architecture. Home to the Waterford Methodists until 1973. It was eventually bought by Waterford City Council in 1989 and was adapted by them for use as the Municipal Art Gallery.

Latest News

October 14, 2016: Irish Architectural Archive’s new publication ‘House and Home’
October 12, 2016: Desmond Guinness Scholarship 2016 open for applications
October 5, 2016: Newbridge House Study Day

Email Newsletter

Signup to receive email updates of new additions to Archiseek.com