1813 – Former Church of St. Michael and John, Essex Quay, Dublin
The Catholic Church of Saints Michael and John on Exchange Street Lower, built in 1813, was gutted to make way for a tourism “experience” which failed. Unfortunately the fine interior was ruined.
Described by Lewis in 1837, “The chapel, situated in Exchange-street and erected in 1815, has two fronts of hewn stone in the later English style: the exterior is of elegant design, and in the interior, which is richly embellished, are three altars; over each respectively are paintings of the Crucifixion, of St. John the Evangelist by Del Frate, and of St. Michael trampling on Satan, a copy from Guido; its fine organ, made by Lawless, cost £800. It contains a handsome monument to Dr. Betagh, a celebrated preacher, who died in 1811, and another to the Rev. Dr. Anglen; at one end are six confessionals of elegant design and beautiful workmanship. The chapel was erected between 1813 and 1816, at a cost of nearly £10,000, which was defrayed by subscription. “