1886 – Design for State Capitol, Helena, Montana

Architect: George R. Mann


A design competition was conducted in 1896 to determine the best suitable design for the capitol building. The commission selected a design by George R. Mann as the winner. In 1897, after a corruption probe, the Commission was disbanded and a 2nd Capitol Commission was convened. The new Commission abandoned Mann’s plans as being too costly, and held a 2nd design competition, won by Charles Emlen Bell and John Hackett Kent. While Mann’s building was never built in Montana, it was however later selected as the base design for the Arkansas State Capitol.

Latest News

September 26, 2016: ‘Sustaining the Industrial Heritage” – Annual Maura Shaffrey Memorial Lecture
September 22, 2016: Open House Cork looking for volunteers
September 21, 2016: ‘Building Ireland’ return to RTE, September 30

Email Newsletter

Signup to receive email updates of new additions to Archiseek.com