Twitter Facebook Vimeo Youtube Google Plus Pinterest Tumblr
March 22, 2011

Six finalists unveiles for Mies van der Rohe Award 2011

Photograph Copyright Christian Richters

029077Photograph Copyright  Jorg von Bruchhausen180300

Mies van der Rohe AwardThe European Commission and the Mies van der Rohe Foundation today announced the six finalists competing for the 2011 European Union Prize for Contemporary Architecture – the Mies van der Rohe Award. They have been shortlisted from 343 works in 33 European countries. The award ceremony will take place on June 20 at the Mies van der Rohe Pavilion in Barcelona, Spain.

“Our finalists have two things in common – they are European and they are among the world’s most visionary architects. The EU Prize celebrates their talent and showcases the economic, social and cultural importance of our creative industries”, said Androulla Vassiliou, European Commissioner for Education, Culture, Multilingualism and Youth.

The 6 finalists are:

Neues Museum Berlin, Germany

, David Chipperfield Architects / David Chipperfield

Bronks Youth Theatre Brussels, Belgium

, MDMA – Martine De Maeseneer Architecten / Martine De Maeseneer, Dirk Van den Brande

MAXXI: Museum of XXI Century Arts Rome, Italy

, Zaha Hadid Architects / Zaha Hadid, Patrick Schumacher, Gianluca Racana

Concert House Danish Radio Copenhagen, Denmark

, Ateliers Jean Nouvel / Jean Nouvel

Acropolis Museum Athens, Greece

, Bernard Tschumi Architects / Bernard Tschumi

Rehabilitation Centre Groot Klimmendaal Arnhem, The Netherlands

, Architectenbureau Koen van Velsen / Koen van Velsen

As well as highlighting excellence in contemporary buildings, the Prize highlights the contribution of European architects to the development of new ideas and technologies in urban development. Launched in 1987 and co-funded by the EU Culture Programme and the Mies van der Rohe Foundation, the €60.000 prize is the most prestigious award in European architecture and is awarded every other year to works completed within the previous two years. This year’s ceremony is the 12th to take place since its launch.

Works nominated for the Prize are put forward by independent experts from all over Europe; as well as the member associations of the Architects’ Council of Europe, national architects’ associations, and the Advisory Committee for the Prize.

The jury members who selected the finalists for 2011 are: Mohsen Mostafavi, Chair of the jury/Dean, Graduate School of Design, Harvard University, Cambridge, USA; Ole Bouman, Director, Nederlands Architectuurinstituut, Rotterdam; Yvonne Farrell, Grafton Architects, Dublin; Annette Gigon, Gigon/Guyer, Zürich; Anne Lacaton, Lacaton& Vassal Architectes, Paris; Tarald Lundevall, Architect, SNØHETTA, Oslo; Pei Zhu, Beijing, China, and Lluís Hortet, Secretary of the jury/Director of the Fundació Mies van der Rohe.