Architect: Samuel Patrick Close
The existing houses was extended in 1897-98 by Samuel P. Close for John Stewart Clarke. In the process it became a large multi-gabled house of asymmetrical plan and irregular outline. What makes it unique is the fret-work treatment of its timber verandas and balconies which gave it a flavour of the orient. Now derelict and fast becoming ruinous.