A fine Tudor mansion by Charles Lanyon of Lanyon an Lynn, in the late 1850s, and completed by 1860. Published in The Builder, March 5 1859. “This mansion is being erected for R. Riall, esq. in the demesne of Old Connaught-hill, near Bray. The site is most picturesque, commanding beautiful views of the bay of Dublin, and the mountains of Wicklow. The materials used for the facing of the whole of the exterior consist of Wicklow granite, with Portland stone for the dressings of the doors and windows. The architects are Messrs. Lanyon and Lynn of Belfast; and the builders, Messrs. Cockburn and Sons, of Dublin.”
Today Old Connaught House or Old Conna, as it is sometimes referenced, is home to a private preparatory school, after a period as a hotel in the 1950s.