Architect: Sir Arthur W. Blomfield
Designed by noted English church architect Sir Arthur W. Blomfield, the gift of 5th Earl of Carysfort William Prob, in memory of his parents, brothers & sisters. Blomfields’s sole work in Ireland, the church cost nearly £30,000. Begun May 1897, and opened 21 Aug 1899.
There is a fine series of 18 windows, designed by George Daniels for Clayton & Bell. Constructed after the disestablishment of the Church of Ireland, which was followed by an upsurge of lay initiative and of giving, giving Ireland some late-Victorian gems including Saint Fin Barre’s Cathedral in Cork; the rebuilding of Christ Church Cathedral, Dublin; and St. Saviour’s.
Photograph courtesy, and copyright of Keith J. Allen.