Twitter Facebook Vimeo Youtube Google Plus Pinterest Tumblr
mythumbnail

1861 – St. Mary’s Institute for Catholic Blind Females, Harold’s Cross, Dublin

Architect: Charles Geoghegan

0001

Proposal for an asylum for the blind at Harold’s Cross. Described by the architect, Charles Geoghegan as “The entire range of new buildings presents a frontage to the south of 274 feet by 70 feet in depth, and comprised on the ground floor, which is 16 feet in height, a spacious entrance hall, having reception hall and porter’s apartments, on either side; class rooms for adults and children; ample space for trades, music, recreation, refectory, baths, and kitchen, offices, schools, and ambulatories. The dormitories, lavatories, infirmary etc., are situate on the first and second floors, each storey being 15 feet in height. The central portion of the general composition affording accommodation for 300 inmates. The convent which is connected with the main building by means of the chapel and central corridors on each floor, contains cells for twenty nuns, with community rooms , refectory, reception room, oratory, and sacristy adjoining the chapel, the choir of which has been arranged to form a private chapel to the convent, which can be cut off from the central building at pleasure. The tower and steeple forming a picturesque feature of the external angle of the chancel.”