The former Church of Saints Michael & John was built in 1813. Although the external fabric of the Church of SS. Michael and John still stands, the interior was completely gutted in the 1990s for a tourism “experience” which failed.
“The RC Church of SS. Michael and John, Lower Exchange-street, occupies the site of the once famous Smock-alley theatre. In this number we illustrate the new high alter which has just been completed for the Rev. N. Walsh, P.P., from designs by Mr. J.L. Robinson, 198 Great Brunswick-street who has also designed the two side altars. The work was executed by Mrs. O’Callaghan, 4 Bachelor’s-walk.” The Irish Builder, February 1 1879