Twitter Facebook Vimeo Youtube Google Plus Pinterest Tumblr

1900 – Unbuilt Design for Assembly Rooms, Belfast

Architect: William Carruthers Laidlaw




Third premiated design for competition, held in 1900, adjudicated by Sir Thomas Drew for new Presbyterian Assembley Rooms. He judged the costing conditions to be unreasonable and unachievable. William Hemstock was awarded second prize. The organising committee of the competition then appointed the architect who drew up the conditions, Robert Young, to design and construct the building. The finished cost was twice was he allowed on the original competition.

Read previous post:
1900 – Unbuilt Design for Assembly Hall, Belfast

Architect: Rupert Savage "This design was awarded the first premium by the assessor, Sir Thos. Drew, R.H.A. ; but the...