1899 – McAuley House, Donegall Place, Belfast
Constructed between 1895-99 as a purpose built department store for Anderson & McAuley, which closed in 1994. The building contents and fixtures were sold, and the building separated into different retail units. Originally a 5-storey department store before further extensions in the 1990s which expense caused the demise of the store. Faced in sandstone with richly carved detail. In 1956, the store was one of the first in Northern Ireland to install escalators and people visited the store just to see and experience them. Now known as McAuley House.