Twitter Facebook Vimeo Youtube Google Plus Pinterest Tumblr
06 January 2016

1824 – Derry Gaol, Co. Derry

The fourth gaol constructed in Derry, it opened in 1824, and closed in 1953, and was demolished bar one tower in the early 1970s. It had a a unique horsehoe plan and was...

05 January 2016

1859 – Former Townhall, Derry

Architect: Thomas Turner Former townhall sited in the centre of the Diamond – the site of the war memorial today. Destroyed by fire and later demolished after the opening of the Guildhall. Extended...

05 January 2016

1898 – Northern Counties Hotel, Waterloo Place, Derry

Architect: Alfred Arthur Forman A fine late Victorian hotel with opulent interiors, that was restored in 2009 as office accommodation. The building had operated as a hotel up until the early sixties and...

05 January 2016

1913 – Victoria Hall, Waterside, Derry

Architect: Robinson & Davidson Built as a Presbyterian Hall, and now home to a branch of the British Legion and an Orange Lodge.

04 January 2016

1862 Dublin Builder Description of the “Architecture of Londonderry”

From The Dublin Builder: “Yielding the consideration of magnitude, there is none other – with certain comparatively trifling and remedial exceptions – in which the ‘Maiden Citie’ will suffer by comparison with any...

31 December 2015

1825 – Favour Royal, Co. Tyrone

Architect: John Hargrave The original house of the demense was destroyed in 1823 by an accidental fire, and replaced with a larger structure by Captain John Corry Moutray of Castle Coole. Captain Moutray...

31 December 2015

1878 – Weir’s Bridge, Enniskillen, Co. Fermanagh

Architect: Edward Fowler The bridge carried the Sligo, Leitrim and Northern Counties Railway across the River Erne from the Great Northern Railway Station at Enniskillen to the Midland Great Western Railway near Ballisodare...

25 November 2015

Tún architecture + design win school design competition

The Minister for Education and Skills has announced that Tún architecture + design is the winner of an architectural design competition for a new primary school in an urban setting. The Competition was...

16 November 2015

Niall McLaughlin Architects to represent Ireland at the 15th International Architecture Exhibition in Venice

Aodhán Ó Ríordáin, TD, Minister of State at the Department of Arts, Heritage and the Gaeltacht, today (16 November, 2015) announced the selection of Niall McLaughlin Architects to represent Ireland at the 15th...