1923 – Royal Ulster Hotel, Donegall Square, Belfast

Architect: Alfred Brumwell Thomas

An unbuilt proposal by the architect of Belfast’s city hall for an hotel on Donegall Square East.

1841 – Railway Station, Blackrock, Co. Dublin

Architect: John Skipton Mulvany

One of Ireland’s earliest railway stations constructed for the Dublin & Kingstown Railway Company. Taking the form of a small Classical villa with added columned canopies over one platform.

1906 – Physical Laboratory, Trinity College Dublin

Architect: William C. Marshall

Like the nearby School of Botany, this building was the gift of the Earl of Iveagh.

1913 – Princess Cinema, Rathmines, Dublin

Architect: George L. O’Connor

Suburban cinema with its main entrance fronted by a cast iron and glass porch flanked by two commercial units.

1901 – Kingscourt, Wellington Place, Belfast, Co. Antrim

Architect: William Roome

Described as being in the “American style” and constructed between 1899-1901, this large warehouse was coal merchant Alex King was later occupied by the Athletic stores.

1914 – Bohemian Picture House, Phibsborough, Dublin

Architect: George L. O’Connor

According to the Irish Builder, the facade was “finished in red brick and chiselled limestone dressings,

1885 – Nos 27-31 Wellington Place, Belfast, Co. Antrim

Demolished in the 1980s. Occupied by a series of restaurants since the 1930s including the well-known and popular Merrythought Café &

1884 – House, Blackrock, Co. Louth

Architect: W.I. Chambers

Described as a cottage in The Irish Builder, March 1 1884. Unclear if this was ever constructed as Chambers was noted for submitting beautifully drafted drawings to the architectural press.

1884 – Cottage, Monasterevin, Co. Kildare

Architect: W.I. Chambers

Cottage design for the Marquis of Drogheda. Published in The Irish Builder, March 1 1884 with the comment,

1884 – Courthouse, Lisburn, Co. Antrim

Architect: John MacHenry

Late 19th century court house was based on Palladio’s Villa Ragona at Ghizzole di Montegaldina. Demolished 1971.