Twitter Facebook Vimeo Youtube Linkedin Google Plus Pinterest Tumblr

Guinness Brewery

10 June 2010

1863 – Grand Canal Harbour, St. James’s Gate, Dublin

Architect: Christopher J. Mulvany This is part of the buildings that surround the former spur of the Grand Canal that led to the city Basin and harbour and nearby St James’s Infirmary. The...

10 June 2010

1880 – Guinness Offices, St. James’s Gate, Dublin

Architect: George Wilkinson Fine Victorian office accommodation complete with elegant chimneys and good quality ironwork. Well maintained, it provides a public face for the brewery to the street.

10 June 2010

1882 – Hops Store, St. James’s Gate, Dublin

Architect: Samuel Geoghegan One of the many storehouses on the property, this was developed into the original Guinness visito centre – the Guinness Storehouse. Now it’s a part of the Dublin Digital Hub...

10 June 2010

1886 – Malt Store, St. James’s Gate, Dublin

Architect: Robert Worthington

12 April 2010

1760 – Old Windmill, Guinness, Dublin

Architect: This former windmill was once used to power the Roe Distillary on Thomas Street in Dublin. George Roe and Company had its beginning in 1757 when Peter Roe bought a small distillery...

21 February 2010

1904 – Storehouse, St. James’s Gate, Dublin

Architect: A.H. Hignett / RKD Architects Now known as the Storehouse (the Guinness Visitor Centre), for many years this building was under threat of demolition, lying empty and disused. Ironically, only the cost...

21 February 2010

1948 – Guinness Power Station, St. James’s Gate, Dublin

Architect: F.P.M. Woodhouse & Sir Alexander Gibb & Partners On the northern side of James Street, lies the brewery power station, a fine and monumental mid-century industrial building.

10 May 2008

Dublin’s last iconic factory to become real estate

The sights, sounds and smells of the Guinness brewery at St James’s Gate in Dublin have been part and parcel of the Liberties for nearly 250 years – ever since Arthur Guinness himself...